Simple Ways To Make A Bouquet!

Flowers are always a great gift to give someone! No matter the occasion – birthday, anniversary, because it’s Monday – it’s a quick and easy way to tell someone, “Hey! I think you’re magical and want to make you smile!” And because making someone smile shouldn’t cost you an arm and a leg, here’s my trick to affordable yet lovely flowers!

First, you’ll need some flowers. I love to check out Trader Joe’s for flowers as they always have a fun variety & they tend to stick with what’s in season. Like in May, they have tons of AMAZING peonies (my personal favorite). They are also very inexpensive. You can get a couple different bunches of flowers for about 3-4 dollars a piece. To make a fun, full bouquet, I’d recommend getting two different varieties (this usually costs me about $8-9). If you have a special person in mind, quickly think of them and then the first color that comes to mind. That’s usually how I pick the color of flowers or ribbon. 🙂

Next, you’ll need a container. I already previously mentioned storing up on milk glass vases in a previous post. Or If you have a glass vase, you can punch it up by adding a very vibrant and colorful ribbon.

Here I added a contrasting ribbon to two different bunches I purchased & reassembled.  If you buy a premixed bouquet, get an additional bunch of carnations! Carnations are totally underrated! They are absolutely beautiful and have been given a bad rap!  They’re a great way to add contrasting pops of colors to your bouquet.

If you don’t have a vase available, eat some spaghetti! Yes, you heard me right. The next time you eat some pasta with sauce, SAVE YOUR PASTA SAUCE JAR! It’s the best vase you can find around the house! The rustic look is VERY in right now and you’re upcycling which makes you an even better person (you’re already a good person because you’re getting someone a bouquet).

Here are some images of flowers I put together for a coworker’s bridal shower. In total, I only spent a little over $20 for the flowers at Trader Joe’s & used up the jars I had around my home! Also, check out the amazing table decor idea from my coworker Natalie – she did that with ribbons! What a splendid idea! How awesome!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by BMoney on January 31, 2011 at 6:02 am

    Your flowers sure brightened my day! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

